A Delicious and EASY Kale and Ground Turkey Taco Recipe

IMG_3541

Man oh man, it’s been a LOOONG time since I’ve done one of these. I’m feeling really excited and accomplished today! For those of you who don’t know yet, I’m PREGNANT! I am 16 weeks pregnant as of yesterday and I am finally feeling more like myself. Let me teeeeeelllll you that my first 14 weeks of pregnancy were the realest. I anticipated some struggles, but I had no idea that it would be that bad for me. I am not going to go into all the details in the post. If you’re curious, let me know if you want a more detailed report of my first trimester and I will do a post just for that.

I am celebrating because I was actually able to get some chores done at home AND I actually cooked a meal too. You would not believe how much eating out we’ve done over the last few months. Yesterday I got up at 6 a.m. I did the laundry, it’s so nice to get there when there’s no one around. Then I picked up a few groceries, made myself some breakfast, I put the clean sheets on the bed, and put all the laundry away. All of that was done by 10 a.m. Lately I haven’t even been able to get out of the bed and get some water by 10 a.m. This was a great accomplishment for me!

Of course, I have had to adjust things a little bit. I can’t move as fast, stand as long, or run around as much as I used to. But I am really blessed to only work 2-4 days a week right now. (Thank you God and thank you husband!) So I don’t need to rush around to get everything done anyway. I don’t know how long this will last, but I am going to ride the wave as long as I can.

On to the recipe. Since I have been nauseated most of the time, I have been pretty picky with my eating. I have had this nasty taste in my mouth which resulted in my living off…well let’s just say not so healthy foods. When I went to the store today, I was determined to pick up some veggies to begin to incorporate them back in my life. In the organic produce section there was some fresh looking Kale. I grabbed that, not knowing how I would use it. On my way home, I realized that I intended to make tacos for dinner. But I hadn’t picked up any spinach which is what I usually use for our tacos instead of lettuce. Then a light bulb went on, I decided to use the kale for the tacos.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not a big kale fan at all. Depending on how it’s prepared, it can be a little too bitter for my taste. But I am determined to have a more love/love relationship with it. This recipe is certainly a step in the right direction, plus it’s super EASY! Let’s get to it.

IMG_3532

INGREDIENTS:

1 package of Ground Turkey (or any ground meat)

1 can of tomato sauce

1 package of Taco Seasoning (I prefer TJs, but their version is “spicy” and it’s too hot for the Mr. One day I will be cool and make my own.)

1-2 cups of Kale chopped up

Corn or Flour Tortillas

Olive Oil

Toppings:

Shredded cheese of choice

Salsa

0% Greek Yogurt (Greek yogurt is a great source of protein and it’s a healthier sour cream substitute.)

Whatever else helps you to get your Taco Life!

DIRECTIONS:

Brown ground meat in a skillet.

IMG_3534

Once the meat is browned, add chopped kale.

IMG_3535

Then add tomato sauce, and the taco seasoning.

IMG_3536

Cook for a few minutes so that Kale softens but does not become soggy.

 

In a separate skillet brown tortillas. If you like your corn shells crunchy, add about a 1/4 inch layer of olive oil to the bottom of your skillet. Cook tortillas until they are crisp, but not hard. You can also warm them in a skillet without oil to make sure they are soft.

IMG_3539

Fill tortillas with cooked meat and top with your favorite toppings. Add a side of rice and beans if you so wish. Enjoy

These tacos were super delicious, all I could think about today was getting home and warming up the leftovers for dinner! What do you like to add to your tacos to make them your own?

 

About Angela

I am a working homemaker and soon-to-be mom, striving to create an eco-aware environment. My goal is to show people how the average person incorporates small, practical changes to cause a big impact on your life and our environment.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Delicious and EASY Kale and Ground Turkey Taco Recipe

  1. This looks so good! Thank you for sharing 😍

    Like

Leave a comment